Women of the Word: Eve (Genesis 2-4)

For the past 4 years, a few lies have tampered with my thoughts about who I am as a woman in Christ. A person of the opposite sex told me a lot of lies 4 years ago, that were not true about women. I was told things that have hindered my desire to have children, my trust in any man, and most importantly, my trust in God. When these lies creep in, I begin to question my existence, and I suddenly forget who I am in Christ and what God has blessed me with as an individual. I was told lies that made me feel that I was not as important in God’s eyes because I was just a woman. THIS IS NOT TRUE. I will go weeks and (if I’m lucky sometimes months), where I am back on my feet again, and are convinced that these lies and thoughts are gone…. but then they show up again.

Recently, my fiancé Nathan has been undergoing job applications and interviews in hopes of finding a job before June 24th, which is when we will be marrying. It’s been a lot of stress on us both since we have been crunched with time, but we didn’t want to stress too much because we knew God would provide for us. He had two interviews with the Tallahassee Orthopedic Clinic about 3 weeks ago, and they both went great. Nathan kept talking about how much he loved everyone there, how they valued God and family, and how much they seemed to like him too. He and I were so confident that he got the job, that we weren’t going to worry  about it at all. Two weeks went by and we had yet to hear anything. Our faith in God’s ability to provide was a little bit tested. We were freaking out because we thought that he would have to start the process over with someone else and put in more applications. Two weeks go by, and he got the call for a job offer. GOD PROVIDES!!! Nathan and I were so excited and we couldn’t thank God enough for looking out for us even when it seemed like it wasn’t going to work out. We had been greatly blessed.

So….. back to those lies. Remember how I said that they’ll come up again right when I’m doing great and back on my feet from the last hit? Usually something triggers these thoughts (A.K.A Satan brings something to my attention to tempt me to go there and revisit the darkness of those lies.) These temptations are usually disguised as false representations of women in the media, hurtful dialog against women on TV, insecurity, body shaming, etc. These temptations suddenly make me forget what the Scriptures actually say about women and how God loves us as His cherished Daughters.

I wanna take you into Genesis 3 for a minute. In verses 1-7 we see sort of a similar occurrence:

” (1) Now the serpent was the most cunning of all the wild animals that the Lord God has made. He said to the woman, “Did God really say, ‘You can’t eat from any tree in the garden?’ (2) The woman said to the serpent, “We may eat the fruit from the trees in the garden. (3) But about the fruit of the tree in the middle of the garden, God said ‘You must not eat it or touch it, or you will die.'” 

(4) “No! You will not die,” the serpent said to the woman. (5) “In fact, God knows that when you eat it your eyes will be opened and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” (6) Then the woman saw that the tree was good for food and delightful to look at, and that it was desirable for obtaining wisdom. So she took some of its fruit and ate it; she also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it. (7) Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they knew they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made loincloths for themselves.”

What God teaches us through this is that Satan is really good at making us forget what God has done for us in order for him to achieve sin. In these verses we see that Satan convinced Eve so deceivingly well, that she suddenly forgot who she was as a woman of God, and how much God had blessed her life with already. After finding out the wonderful news about Nathan’s job acceptance, I was tempted shortly after. Suddenly Satan tempted me to forget about this huge and amazing milestone that God blessed us with. And it caused me to go there, to the trap of those lies once again. I was strung out on dark and pitiful emotions until I found my way back out of the dark pit I revisited. I got back on my feet again and learned my lesson. But I only got there because I was not remaining in Him and I wasn’t wearing any armor of protection. What did I expect?  Never forget who you are as a woman of God. You are wonderful. You are beautiful. You are enough. You are ABLE. Satan will make you forget that. We don’t realize how lethal it is to our faith to give him that one little step into the dark place. He always takes that one little step and turns it into an exhausting marathon of hurt and pain. But that’s only if we allow that little step to be given. I don’t know what you’re struggling with as a woman today, and it may be something similar. But I want us to not forget who we are. God loves us and has great protection over us if we wear the armor. Remain in the Word and meditate and dwell on what the loving words of the Bible say about women. We are important. We were made to have a purpose.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Lauren Kay Sims

refined style | radiant life

Alex Moore

"If one person sees the love of Christ in me, it is worth every minute. In fact, it is worth spending my life for" -Katie Davis

JOCELYNNE FLOR

lifestyle & wellness for the everyday health enthusiast

PROVERBS 31:10

She Is Worth More

Taylor Kate

"Seek His will in all you do, and He will show you which path to take" Proverbs 3:6

